All event times are in Pacific Daylight Time (GMT-7).

Loading Events

Auburn Symphony Orchestra: Brahms & Sibelius

Past event
$37 ($30 senior, $10 student)

Sunday, February 17, 2019 (PDT) @ 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm

Auburn Symphony Orchestra

Michael Lim, violin
Wesley Schulz, conductor

Emily Cooley – Argo
Jean Sibelius – Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47
Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

This concert begins with music by Emily Cooley, who has received commissions from the Cincinnati Symphony and Louisville Orchestra. Her work, Argo, calmly rises and falls with a gentle pulse as a slow moving and beautiful melody fades in and out of a lush background. Michael Lim, concertmaster of the Pacific Northwest Ballet Orchestra, makes his Auburn Symphony debut performing Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto, one of the most revered and celebrated violin concertos in all the repertory. Sibelius’ masterpiece is extraordinarily difficult and, at the same time, one of the most captivating and songful works written for violin. The concert concludes with Brahms’ Symphony No. 4 in E minor. All of the emotions of the human experience are found in this symphony: ebullience and cheerfulness are hallmarks of the inner movements while melancholy and tinges of sorrow can be found in the outer movements. Brahms’ mastery of the orchestra is found throughout, impressing upon the listener melodies that stick to the soul and an orchestral sound that stirs the heart.

All events are subject to change without notice. For best results, confirm details with performer or venue before attending. Are we missing something? Add an event to the calendar. You can also submit corrections to

Find great classical concerts nearby.