Loading Events

Auburn Symphony Orchestra Chamber Series: Youth Movement

Past event
$20 ($10 students)

Sunday, January 20, 2019 @ 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

Auburn Symphony Orchestra

Brittany Boulding, violin
Brian Wharton, cello
Mark Salman, piano

Richard Strauss – Violin Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 18
Felix Mendelssohn – Piano Trio No. 1, Op. 49

Mark Salman, who has performed two piano concertos with the Auburn Symphony, joins concertmaster Brittany Boulding and principal cello Brian Wharton in works by two musical geniuses and prodigies. Richard Strauss’ Sonata for Violin and Piano, known for its lyrical beauty and technical demands on the musicians, was written by the young composer in 1887. This violin sonata is suggestive of Mendelssohn’s influence. And while Mendelssohn wrote the Midsummer Night’s Dream Overture at age 17, and is compared to Mozart in his early ability to compose and perform, this piano trio came at age 36, only two years before his death.

This performance is part of the Auburn Symphony Orchestra Chamber Music Series.

All events are subject to change without notice. For best results, confirm details with performer or venue before attending. Are we missing something? Add an event