Loading Events

Lake Union Civic Orchestra: Stravinsky, Brahms, Broughton

Past event
$20 ($15 students/seniors)

Saturday, March 9, 2019 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Lake Union Civic Orchestra

​Ryan Schultz, tuba
Christophe Chagnard, conductor

Igor ​Stravinsky – The Firebird Suite (1919 version)
Bruce Broughton – Concerto for Tuba
Johannes Brahms – Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

From the conductor: Stravinsky is one of my favorite composers. I’ve always admired his craftsmanship, originality, and rhythmic audacity. The Firebird is the masterpiece that put Stravinsky on the international map, established him as one of the 20th century’s greatest musical geniuses. I had the great pleasure of performing with Ryan Schultz during my very first season with LUCO and I am delighted to welcome him back to celebrate this farewell. Ryan chose and wonderful Tuba Concerto by American composer Bruce Broughton, who composed it as a Sonata in 1987 and later scored it as a concerto in 2003. Johannes Brahms is another composer who has very few detractors amongst orchestra musicians and certainly has been a favorite of LUCO. His second symphony was one of his greatest successes, revealing the composer in full command of the form.

All events are subject to change without notice. For best results, confirm details with performer or venue before attending. Are we missing something? Add an event