All event times are in Pacific Daylight Time (GMT-7).

Loading Events

Olympia Symphony: We Shall Never Forget

Past event

Sunday, November 18, 2018 (PDT) @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Olympia Symphony Orchestra

Lauren Yoon, piano
Huw Edwards, conductor

Frank Bridge – Lament
Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 19
George Butterworth – The Banks of Green Willow
Samuel Barber – Adagio for Strings
Maurice Ravel – Le tombeau de Couperin

World War 1 concluded 100 years ago this year, so this concert commemorates that global landmark. English composer Frank Bridge dedicated his Lament for Strings “for Catherine, aged 9, Lusitania 1915.” George Butterworth died at The Somme in 1916 and his poetic The Banks of Green Willow is one of a tiny fleet of orchestral works he penned. Maurice Ravel’s Le tombeau de Couperin looks back to a less-troubled age but each of the five movements is dedicated to a friend who was killed in the Great War. Samuel Barber’s intense and lachrymal Adagio for Strings is now synonymous with memorials and war through vivid film soundtracks, and Beethoven worked amid wars in Vienna – the amazing Lauren Yoon from Portland will join them for his youthful Piano Concerto No. 2.

This program is supported in part by a grant from the Washington State Arts Commission (now also known as “ArtsWA”), and the National Endowment for the Arts.

All events are subject to change without notice. For best results, confirm details with performer or venue before attending. Are we missing something? Add an event to the calendar. You can also submit corrections to

Find great classical concerts nearby.