All event times are in Pacific Daylight Time (GMT-7).

Loading Events

Olympia Chamber Orchestra: …With Dancing!

Past event
$20 / $10

Sunday, February 23, 2020 (PDT) @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Olympia Chamber Orchestra

Gabriel Ong, piano
Michael Zhao, piano
Collen Ferris, guest conductor

Ludwig van Beethoven – “Rondo” from Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
Dmitri Shostakovich – “I. Allegro” from Piano Concerto No. 2 in F major, Op. 102

The orchestra will also perform excerpts from the following:

Jean-Philippe Rameau – Les Indes galantes (“The amorous Indies”)
Carl Maria von Weber – Invitation to the Dance, Op. 65
Johann Strauss II – Unter Donner und Blitz (“Thunder and Lightning”), Op. 324
Carl Maria von Weber – Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 19
Johannes Brahms – Hungarian Dance No. 5 in F-sharp minor

Olympia’s got talent! Although this Olympia Chamber Orchestra (OCO) concert emphasizes dance music, it will also feature the amazing winners of this year’s Olympia Music Teacher’s Association piano competition. Gabriel Ong performs the first movement of Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto, and Michael Zhao takes on the third movement, “Rondo”, of Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto. Both study with Brooke Beecher.

Maestro Nickolas Carlson conducted the opera Les Indes galantes (“The amorous Indies”) by Jean-Phillipe Rameau (1683-1764) during his graduate studies at Wichita State University. These dances are tuneful and rhythmically catchy, and Maestro Carlson has infused rehearsals with playful energy. Four acts demonstrate the theme of Love vs. War in different areas of the world: the Ottoman Empire, Peru, Persia, and North America.

Carl Maria von Weber’s (1786-1826) music is featured in two works this evening: Invitation to the Dance, Op. 65; and his Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 19. Invitation to the Dance is a sparkling waltz. This piece inspired composers to move away from writing simple country dances, and compose passionate and expressive dance music like the waltzes of Johann Strauss II. The Waltz King is represented on this concert with another dance form in his Thunder and Lightning Polka.

Weber was one of the first composers of the Romantic period. Maestro Carlson will acquaint you with his Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 19, and its classical elegance and charm. Weber wrote this symphony between 1806 and 1807, two full years after Beethoven completed his monumental Symphony No. 3, “Eroica”. Despite Beethoven’s recent stylistic advances, the young Weber maintained a traditional classical style in this early work.

OCO welcomes Collen Ferris to the stage to conduct Brahms’ Fifth Hungarian Dance. She won a chance to conduct a work of her choice at an OCO fundraiser.

Tickets: $20 ($10 military/senior/student)

All events are subject to change without notice. For best results, confirm details with performer or venue before attending. Are we missing something? Add an event to the calendar. You can also submit corrections to

Find classical concerts based on your interests.